Belconnen United Sharks R.L.F.C.

The university scholars was formed mid 1997, playing its first game in the George Tooke Shield in 1998. The club then moved to play in the NSW tertiary competition for the next 4 years 1999-2002. We then returned to the George Tooke Shield in 2003 and were able to make it to semi finals. In 2004 the Scholars finished Minor premiers and won the George Tooke Shield premiership. In 2005 the club moved up into Canberra Raiders Cup competition and in 2006 the club entered two teams as the North Belconnen Scholars.

In 2007 the club changed its name to the Canberra Scholars and only just missed out on making it through the Grand Final. In 2010 we entered into an affiliation with the Belconnen United Sharks Juniors and our name was changed to the Belconnen United Scholars. It was a very successful season with both our First Grade and Under 18s sides making the Grand Final.

In 2011 and 2012 we continued to improve by keeping our players and management roster as stable as possible whilst at the same time developing our local junior talent. As a result of 3 years of hard work and commitment by all involved at Belconnen United Scholars we made a clean sweep of all the major awards on offer in 2012.

Between 2012-2015 the Scholar’s have been rebuilding the club with miss fortunes at being successful has eluded the club.

The Scholar’s management/committee ceased operation at the end of 2015 to allow for a new change in direction for 2016.

The appointment of the new committee with Rugby League background and business planning, also with the appointment of new coaching/players staff, we look forward to successful years to come.